Australia has five major wine-growing states: Western Australia, South Australia, New South Wales, Victoria and Tasmania. South Australia commands the most attention, and includes some of Australia’s most notable wine zones and regions. New South Wales is also an important territory. While not huge in volume, Western Australia is known for ultra-premium wines and a distinctive style.
Australian Shiraz has become so popular in recent years that it has given the Syrah grape an alias. Even though the French name is Syrah. The Barossa Valley in Australia is home to internationally renowned Shiraz.